Day 1 – Whistler

The day started out a bit cloudy. But, by the time lunch came around it was bright and sunny. In fact, I have never seen BC this dry. The grass in Vancouver was brown, and the dirt here in Whistler is dusty and hard. The trails are super rough and beat up from a summers riding already without much rain. The climate is going weird.

We had a really successful day of riding yesterday. Liz and the girls rode all day with Candace. Of course, by the end of the day she had them doing things on the bike that they never thought they could. They were all smiles at lunch time. It is always fun seeing them go from a bit freaked out to confident in their riding. Candace can work magic with them.

Lukas, Christian, Jose and I spent the day reacquainting ourselves with jumps, technical terrain, wooden bridges, rocky and rooty terrain. It was a great day. Just a couple of small crashes for each of us.

We did have a few mechanical problems though. Lukas flatted and put a huge flat spot into his wheel. We banged it out at the end of the day, but it will be interesting to see if the wheel lasts for the week. He also had a brake lever foul up on him. We lost some parts, and had to chase around town looking for the replacement parts. In the end, it is all back together and he is excited about another day on the trails.

I became the easiest customer ever at the bike shop today. I walked in asked for a Giro Remedy helmet. They asked me what color and size, and said medium and pointed to a black one. They asked me if I wanted to try it on. I said no, and handed them a credit card. Done. New helmet is with me and riding.

Today the girls will get out with Candace more, and the boys and I will head up to the upper mountain. More challenging terrain.

Joe

Leave a comment