1 week to go till Steele Creek

It is March 21, and we are in the middle of a blizzard.  OMG!  This winter just will not stop.  We got about a foot of snow today.  If you would have told me at the beginning of the winter that we would get over 100 inches of snow in Madison this winter, I would have told you that you were whacked.  I mean, I think we got about 20 inches of snow all of last year.

When I look at my log from last year, I had ridden locally at least 6 times by this point in March.  But, there still is not a riding area in the state or in northern Illinois that is open.  There is a MXC race in Prophetstown Illinois tomorrow, but I have done those races when they are 30 degrees and snow on the trail.  They really are not much fun, and certainly not much like riding a GNCC race.

So, I am going to go Steele Creek with no riding time since Georgia.  My practice bike is rebuilt and ready to be ridden, but there isn’t anywhere to ride it.  I don’t really want to go down and ride at Waterman.  That place is so frustrating.  20 minutes of riding is just frustrating to me.  Plus, I am not a fast MX rider, so I don’t really care about that – I just want to put in more time.

It all means that I am just riding the trainer again this weekend.  I have not put this much time in on a trainer since I was racing bicycles 20 years ago.  I don’t really like it too much.  Come to think of it, I didn’t really like it then and that is what ultimately made me retire from bicycle racing.  I mean, there is only so many hours you can spend drowning in your own sweat on a trainer in your garage or your basement.  Yow!

But, I feel like I am ready to race.  My head is on pretty well.  I feel like I can ride the pace of the leaders in my class, if the course is a woods course.  I just need to be patient and let the race happen.  I don’t need to push it.  It is 3 hours, after-all.

So, we head to Charlotte on Friday the 28th, drive up to the Steele Creek race and get settled in.  We will have to get to a grocery store etc… along the way.  But, we can deal with all of that.  On Saturday, I will have to put new clutch plates in the bike and fill it with oil etc…  But, the bike is ready to go otherwise.

I hope to provide a great story for that race.

Tomorrow I am going to spend some time fitting up the helmet camera, and I hope to make that work for the race.  If all goes well, I will be posting a video on Youtube, and a link from the site.

I am rambling, I know.  You can tell that I am bored and ready to race.  IT IS SNOWING OUTSIDE!!!!  JEEZ!

See you in North Carolina!

Joe

Leave a comment